Leather Care

USE - TIPS

To take full advantage of your leather chairs over a long time period, please follow some basic rules.> Leather, depending on the type of finishing is more or less sensitive to heat and light, even by reverberation. These factors can dry out the leather and dull the vividness of colors. Your chairs should be set avoiding direct exposure to sunlight or proximity to main windows whenever possible. Observe and follow the maintenance instructions to maintain the physical and aesthetic qualities of your leather.

Do not wait fouling to undertake maintenance, do not try cleaning, stain removal, ... without the adequate products. Do not have your chairs near a source of strong heat (fireplace, heaters or various heating). Leather is a durable(lasting) material, however just like a woodwork or a different material, it is susceptible to intense physical attacks that can harm its beautiful appearance (scratches from sharp objects, pets’ scratching, fabric friction or scratchy clothing, rivets or buckles clothing ...). Be sure to avoid these types of occurrences onto your leather.

ROUTINE MAINTENANCE

- DUST CONTROL

The amount of dust and dirt which deposits on your leather is equivalent to that which is deposited on a wooden cabinet that you dust off regularly because it is very visible. To prevent dust to tarnish your leather and to encrust in the veins of the skin, please make a weekly dusting, especially if your sofa has a padded seat by vacuuming it with a soft brush, or by passing a soaked soft cloth over the leather surface.

- MAINTENANCE

Maintenance of leather is essential to preserve the aesthetic and physical appearance of the leather in the near future. Maintenance is divided into two operations to do every 3 months: 

1 Cleaning: This operation removes all greasy or sticky dust, common dirt and stains due to the normal use that are not removed by regular dusting. Cleaning will also prepare the leather for the application of a protective product on a clean surface, providing maximum efficiency to the protecting product and allowing it to impregnate and polymerize the leather surface according to the different type of finishing.

2 Protection: This operation brings to upholstery leather all the elements necessary to properly protect (against food drying, protection against stains, friction and fading to light). Product’s protection acts preventively by creating a layer against the aggressions suffered by the leather. Compliance with the frequency of maintenance keeps the layer active and preserve its effectiveness.

 

Simply tell us what you’re looking for! We’ll only be too happy to oblige!

Au Bon Repos, 6 floors of browsing heaven

Entretien du cuir

I. UTILISATION - CONSEILS

Pour profiter pleinement et longtemps de vos sièges en cuir, veillez à respecter quelques règles de base.>Le cuir, selon son type de finissage, est plus ou moins sensible à la chaleur et à la lumière, même par réverbération. Ces facteurs peuvent dessécher le cuir et ternir la vivacité de ses couleurs. L’emplacement de vos sièges dans leur environnement devra éviter si possible une exposition directe aux rayons du soleil ou une disposition proche des baies vitrées. Observez et respectez les conseils d’entretien pour préserver les qualités physiques et esthétiques de votre cuir.

 

N’attendez pas l’encrassement pour entreprendre les opérations d’entretien, ne tentez pas d’opérations de nettoyage, détachage,… sans les produits adaptés. Veillez à ne pas disposer vos sièges près d’une source de chaleur intense (cheminée, radiateur, appareils de chauffage divers). Le cuir est un matériau résistant, toutefois au même titre qu’une boiserie ou un autre matériau, il est sensible aux agressions physiques intenses qui peuvent nuire à son bel aspect (rayures d’objets pointus, griffures d’animaux domestiques, frottements de tissus ou de vêtement rêches, rivets ou boucles de vêtement…). Veillez à éviter ces types d’agressions à votre cuir.

II. ENTRETIEN RÉGULIER

• DÉPOUSSIÉRAGE La quantité de poussière et de salissure qui se dépose sur votre cuir est équivalente à celle qui se dépose sur un meuble en bois et que vous dépoussiérez régulièrement parce qu’elle est très visible. Pour éviter que la poussière ternisse votre cuir et s’incruste dans les nervures de la peau, effectuez un dépoussiérage hebdomadaire, surtout si votre canapé a une assise capitonnée, soit par le passage de l’aspirateur à l’aide d’un embout à brosse douce, soit par le passage d’un chiffon doux humidifié en surface du cuir.

• ENTRETIEN L’entretien du cuir est essentiel pour préserver l’aspect esthétique et physique du cuir dans son proche avenir. L’entretien s’effectue en deux opérations, à réaliser chaque trimestre :

1. Nettoyage : cette opération permet d’éliminer toutes les poussières grasses ou collantes, salissures courantes et taches liées à l’utilisation qui ne sont pas éliminées par le dépoussiérage régulier. Le nettoyage permet également de préparer le cuir pour que l’application du produit de protection se réalise sur une surface nette et propre, donnant ainsi un maximum d’efficacité à la protection qui doit imprégner ou bien polymériser en surface le cuir selon son type de finissage.

2. Protection : cette opération apporte au cuir d’ameublement tous les éléments nécessaires pour bien le protéger (nourriture contre le dessèchement, protection contre les taches, les frottements et la décoloration à la lumière). Le produit de protection agit préventivement en créant un écran aux agressions que subit le cuir. Le respect de la fréquence d’entretien permet de maintenir en état l’écran de protection et de préserver son efficacité.

Que cherchez-vous? Nous sommes là pour vous aider.

Le Bon Repos, 6 étages pour vous accueillir